Pastel Be Gone: The Acceptance of Color

I have been pastel, chalky and a bit insubstantial lately. Apart from the fact that I am 5’9”, I have begun to blend in both aesthetically and socially.
This isn’t me. I’m not vanilla with a swirl of butterscotch (though that is really quite good.) I am brave. I am adventurous. I can even be funny at times. So why was I allowing myself to fade like a wicker chair out in the sun too long?
So, I chose color today. I chose poppy red to raise me out of Monet’s Water Lilies palette and rise like a phoenix into the vibrant air of spring. (I’ve been reading Harry Potter again so forgive the phoenix reference…)
People who are close to me, that is see me on a very regular basis, know that I wear a lot of paste. And not only do I wear it, I decorate with it. Everywhere. From the walls of my apartment to my excel spreadsheets at work.
But the world is a changin’ and has taken on an OZ like persona that stamps its figurative foot like a child and demands bright, bold, happy colors. I want color that people gravitate to and feel happy around. I want to be happy and have people around me.
Perhaps it is just the feel of spring in the Bay Area or maybe it is the Blog posts I have been reading lately. Or maybe, just maybe it is the gigantic life-altering-step of having the love of my life add roommate to his association with me that has done it, but whatever the reason may be…
I
Want
COLOR.
So my question right now is, what have you been craving lately?

March 23, 2010. admiration, blog, Blogger, Bloggers, change, Decorating, Photography, satisfaction, Uncategorized, unhappy, Woman, writing.

One Comment

  1. Marna replied:

    Allison, you are a fabulous writer, simply put. It’s not easy being skilled and talented like that. Go you!! Keep ’em coming, the posts. They honestly brighten up my days. And YES, I’m with you, it’s time for some color!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI