Square Wheels and Other Obstacles

You can’t go very fast with square wheels. Right now I feel like my Sunday stroll through life has turned into a Tuesday of errands where everything is harried and frustrating. Recently I hit a bit of a road block. My heart was set and I was rejected. Immediately I went on the offensive and began to plan my strategy to get back in the game. When anyone would show sympathy I would show strength. To everyone around me I was picking my bike back up, dusting the rocks out of my cuts and getting back out there. Alone however was a different story.
I felt and feel defeated. The metaphorical wind has been taken out of my sails. So what did I do to gear myself up? I hid in trashy mediocre romance novels with little plot and two dimensional characters. It’s kind of my thing. Most people turn to alcohol, chocolate, or friends. I turn to books. It’s what I do, so sue me.
Any way, so now that I’m somewhat surfacing for air I now have to shake off this feeling of defeat. My question for you today is, how do you get back up? How do you gain momentum again? How do you gain your confidence back?
The bare bones of a game plan are underway but my enthusiasm and heart have been bruised. Now I need to fight, but now it comes down to, what am I fighting for…

August 30, 2010. Tags: . alcohol, career, change, Doubt, sadness, scary, Uncategorized, unhappy.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI